Media Award - 2018

Lisa Klein - Evening News Co-Anchor

The Boards Association presents one award each year on a statewide basis to recognize a print, audio, or visual media effort about Wisconsin Technical Colleges that best meets the following four criteria:

  • The nomination portrays today’s technical college learning environment positively, with originality and creativity;
  • It portrays the benefits of technical college education on individuals and their communities;
  • It reports positively about the technical college's service and contributes to a better public understanding of the college’s mission; and, finally,
  • It thoroughly covers the subject matter in a stimulating and clear fashion.

We were honored to review the nominations for several really extraordinary submissions this year, and the committee would be proud to have selected any of the nominations. We received ten nominations for this year’s Media Award. They are:

2018 Media Award Nominees
  • Hannah Flood, NBC 15, nominated by Blackhawk Technical College
  • Anthony Domol,WFRV CBS, nominated by Fox Valley Technical College
  • Nate Beck, Fond du Lac Reporter, nominated by Moraine Park Technical College
  • Eric Lindquist, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram, nominated by Chippewa Valley Technical College
  • James Lawson, Kenosha News, nominated by Gateway Technical College
  • Marni McEntee (Photographer Jen Dederich), Brava Magazine, nominated by Madison College
  • Rebecca Carballo, Milwaukee Business Journal, nominated by Waukesha County Technical College
  • Patti Zarling, Herald Times Reporter, nominated by Lakeshore Technical College
  • Lisa Klein, WKBT-TV News 8, nominated by Western Technical College
  • Jennifer Austin, KBJR, nominated by Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College

This Year's Winner: Lisa Klein - Evening News Co-Anchor, News 8 in La Crosse.

Lisa Klein's report, Youth Build was aired May 23rd, 2017. It features Western's US Department of Labor grant funded coumminty-based alternative education option providing job training and opportunities to at-risk youth to earn their GED, HSED or High School diploma.

Lisa began her career as a producer at News 8 in 1997. She left for a year to work in public relations at Winona State University, and returned to News 8 in 2005 as the co-anchor for the 5 p.m. and 6 p.m. news broadcasts and education reporter. Lisa grew up in Racine, WI, and received her Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. Lisa is honored to have won multiple awards from organizations including the Associated Press, Wisconsin Broadcasters Association and Northwest Broadcast News Association.

Former Award Winners

Media Award
Year Winner City
1999 PamTuescher, WMTV-TV15 Madison
2000 John Lee, The Post-Crescent Appleton
2001 Rick Barrett, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel Waukesha
2002 Scott Wittchow, Action Advertiser Fond du Lac
2003 Phil Rhein, Daily Register Portage
2004 Kathryn Bracho,WBAY-TV2 Appleton
2005 Prema Chandrathil, WISC-TV Madison
2006 Judy Waggoner, Independent Journalist Menasha
2007 Sharon Roznik, The Reporter Fond du Lac
2008 Heather LaRoi, Wisconsin State Journal Madison
2009 Haley Jorgensen, Public Image Ripon
2010 Kevin Tibbles, NBC Nightly News Chicago
2011 Insight Publications Appleton
2012 Lindsay Fiori, The Journal Times Racine
2013 The LaCrosse Tribune LaCrosse
2014 Zac Schultz, Wisconsin Public Television Madison
2015 Michelle Carolla, WMSN Fox 47 Madison
2016 Keith Uhlig, Wausau Daily Herald Wausau
2017 Hannah Anderson, WSAW-TV Wausau